The Five W’s of Prayer.

The power of prayer is an act that a lot of religious humans in our world rely on, almost as much as anyone relies on breathing. As a Roman Catholic, I have seen the power of prayer first hand and I truly believe in its works. But, here are the bigger questions; who do you pray for? What do you pray for? How do you do it?

In my experience I have seen a lot of saying “Please fill in the name of your God or Goddess here, if you help me do this, I’ll do that.” Prayer is sometimes seen as a plea bargain which isn’t always a horrible thing. For me personally, I use the power of prayer to help provoke change in the world around me, be it the people in my life, be it my environment. I won’t sit here and say that I haven’t begged God for something for personal gain because I have. There is a higher power much greater than me, so of course I begged for a few favors along the line but a majority of the time I find myself praying for my inner circle; my mother, my father, my brother, all of my friends, girlfriend, and our dog. Yes, our dog. If you had any idea how much I love my dog this wouldn’t sound so farfetched.

So, now that I have talked my way into a circle. I’ll ask. Who do you pray for? Does prayer work differently in your religion? Do you believe in the power of prayer? The questions just came up in my mind so I figured I’d share.

Peace be with you.

Leave a comment